#14 – Windows 7 RC and Realtek HD Audio Manager – problem with sound reproduction on headphones connected to front panel

May 22, 2009 at 7:21 pm 2 comments

Base of my computer is Intel Desktop Board DG33BU cased within Chieftec CX-03SL-A . After installation of Windows 7 and all necessary drivers I’ve noticed that I audio isn’t reproduced on my headphones that are connected to front panel. After checking that device isn’t muted within Volume Mixer I started to look around what could be the cause of this problem. I’ve found out that I have to enable option called “Disable front panel jack detection” in Realtek HD Audio Manager to get my front panel jack working.

Realtek HD Audio Manager under Windows 7 RC

I must say that I was surprised to see that I have to enable option called “Disable front panel jack detection” to get the front panel working. When I’ve solved my problem I tried to find out why is there a problem in the first place. After some time spent on googling I’ve seen that the same problem was already here with Windows Vista. According to some pages (that actually don’t have info on my motherboard or my casing) this could be due to either of those two components. So, I got the sound working but I still don’t know what has caused the problem.

Entry filed under: Microsoft, Software, Windows. Tags: , , , , , , .

#13 – Microsoft Second Shot offer – grab it while it lasts #15 – Microsoft search engine is now called “bing”

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Spotlamp  |  August 19, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    I have the exact same issue and I’ll try the solution tonight. On my system I wonder whether this is caused by my case not having an HD Audio front panel, instead relying on legaly AC’97 as the format and may be AC’97 doesn’t support this feature?

    Reply
  • 2. itpendium  |  August 21, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    I really couldn’t tell… I also couldn’t figure out what was exactly problem with my computer. I must admit after I got it working I didn’t return to this problem again 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



itpendium.wordpress.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Technorati Favorites

Add to Technorati Favorites

Categories

May 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

ITpendium@twitter


